fbpx

University of Hawai‘i Presents
SCEP Live Online
2021 Fall International Storyteller Series

The Statewide Cultural Extension Program (SCEP), a program of UH Mānoa Outreach College, continues to expand its SCEP Live Online offerings with a Fall International Storyteller Series. The series is a presentation of UH Mānoa Outreach College, with additional support from the Hawaiʻi Book and Music Festival.

For three weeks, on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursday, audiences can log in to hear storytellers from around the world present their amazing tales live. The series begins on Tuesday, October 19.  All performances begin at 10:00 AM HST and will run approximately 30 to 45 minutes. On Sunday, October 31, a special hour-long Halloween performance will begin at 7 PM.

Performance schedule

(All performances at 10:00 AM HST unless otherwise noted.)
Tues, Oct 19            Ingrid Nixon: Strange Things Done in the Midnight Sun: Alaska Tales Real and Imagined
Wed, Oct 20            Nyla Fujii-Babb: Sky Tales
Thurs, Oct 21         Janine Oshiro: 42 & the Moon: Stories on Adulthood and Other Mysteries
Tues, Oct 26           Nuala Hayes: Stories from the Turning of the Year! Cailleachai, Hags, and the Other World
Wed, Oct 27            Lillian Pang: Vamanos con Cuentos
Thurs, Oct 28         Dovie Thomason: (To and) For All the Grandmothers

Sun, Oct 31          HALLOWEEN SPECIAL (7-8 PM)
                                  Alton Chung: The Sobbing Spirit of Punahou Street
                                  Kathy Collins: Okiku and the Nine Plates
                                  Jeff Gere: Testing God

Tues, Nov 2            Adam Booth: Journeying Appalachia’s Roads
Wed, Nov 3            Giovanna Conforto: Tasty Italian Tales
Thurs, Nov 4          Joe Miller: Tales for a Planetary Autumn

The Fall International Storyteller Series is sponsored in part by the Hawaii Book and Music Festival, National Endowment for the Arts, Western States Arts Federation (WESTAF), Hawai‘i State Foundation on Culture and the Arts, Kaunoa Senior Center, Friends of Mānoa Library, and the Alliance for Culture and the Arts.