How we measure the level of English language understanding of our students.

Overall NICE Level Descriptions

The NICE curriculum is mapped to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). CEFR was created by the Council of Europe to provide “a common basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses, curriculum guidelines, examinations, textbooks, etc. across Europe” (2001), and it has been used as a planning tool among various language programs in order to further promote transparency and coherence in language education. At NICE, we have adapted its level descriptions to match common language activities that our students need to engage in and specific contexts that they often have to be able to deal with.

CEFR has a total of six levels from A1 to C2. At NICE, there are five corresponding levels offered for our students, from A1 to C1.

The table below covers two main dimensions: a vertical and a horizontal one. The vertical one illustrates all the levels offered at NICE as well as progression through the levels. The horizontal one further illustrates different contexts of learning and teaching. In other words, it indicates different language activities and competencies, i.e., what students can do with the target language, across the levels. These descriptions are used to guide course goals, objectives, and student learning outcomes in each curriculum area (i.e., Grammar, Listening, Oral Production, and Integrated Skills).

NICE User Levels

Adapted from: http://www.teemeurope.eu/documents/CEFR.DOC

Also, for CERF reference levels for each skill area (Listening, Reading, Speaking, and Writing), please refer to Table 2 by the Council of Europe (2001, pp.26-27).

Reference: Council of Europe (2001) Common European Framework of Reference for Languages: Learning, teaching, assessment, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

NICE Course Achievement Scales and Interpretations
(10-Week NICE only)

Updated 06/03/21